Anyone with experience in Bardon-style Evocation?

Initiation Into Hermetics, The Practice of Magical Evocation and The Key to the True Quabbalah.

Topic author
Gromvol
Adeptus Major

Anyone with experience in Bardon-style Evocation?

Post#1 » Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:25 am

I'm at a point where I need to start doing Bardonian evocations, but I still can't figure out exactly what I need from a practical stand-point to execute a decent ritual. I studied Bardon's Evocation book. Great info, but too much for me to prioritize without having experienced a "standard" (I suspect that this is rather poor wording on my part, don't mean to offend anyone) ritual evocation.

Here are my questions:

1. Do I need to use the mirror my first time or can I call directly (I have adequate experience communicating with spirits directly and naturally, i.e. without ritual, without channeling, etc., and without any mnemonic devices)?
2. What is a "comfortable" intelligence to call from Bardon's list?
3. What kind of gear do I need? I have my ritual robes and a ritual sword; what else do I need for an evocation?
4. Are there any formalities to be observed? In my natural communications, I never need to do anything more than I would if I called on another person, but I've never done an "official" ritual evocation.

I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to mnemonic rituals, but I'm quite comfortable in and with the spirit world. I came very close to death several times before I was out of my teens. Close enough to kiss it. So I've established a close personal relationship, so to speak.

I read the wonderful post "Simple Method of Angelic Evocation" by Fio Praeter Humanus ( http://www.studioarcanis.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1687 ), but the method he describes appears to be different from what Bardon instructs. Could someone please explain what am I missing?